Ancient site north of modern El-Masara. Noted by Edgar in 1907 as having Coptic pottery, fired bricks and glass fragments on the surface of a low mound. Numerous red granite blocks lie on the site, all out of their original locations (Fig. 3, below). Part of a siltstone sarcophagus of the King's Mother, Wedja-Shu, 30th dynasty, was dug out of the mound in 1907 and sent to the Egyptian Museum in Cairo.

The site was visited in April 2007 by J. and P. Spencer and surveyed for the EES Delta Survey in 2009 and 2010. A detailed report is available here.

The site is extensive and in moderately good condition, although a new canal has just been cut into the west side. On the east edge is a small village and there are a few modern tombs at the south-east (Fig. 2, below). These lie in an area which was previously a much larger Islamic cemetery and many old tombs or tomb-pits are visible. The site is low and undulating, and rises gradually towards the south. In 2009-10 an area of 4.65 hectares was scanned by Fluxgate magnetometry and some large rectangular buildings were identified (Fig.1 below). These were tested by a few trenches in 2010 to discover their date, and found to be of the Late Roman Period. The walls, probably of fired bricks, had all been robbed out for the material leaving the robbers' trenches filled with water-laid mud. The interior of one building retained parts of a pink plaster floor. The archaeological deposits contained many broken fired bricks and a limited quantity of Late Roman pottery fragments. 

Magnetometer mapping by Tomasz Herbich

Photographs P. Spencer 2007

Modern tombs on the edge of the site

Granite blocks on the surface